©2018 by Cheltenham Youth Theatre. Proudly created with Wix.com

weekly

youth

theatre

2019 | 2020

Join us this season as we create 2 exciting new shows to be performed at the stunning Parabola Arts Centre in April 2020. With huge excitement, our CYT Company will also perform at Warwick Arts Centre for National Theatre Connections.

CYT meet every Friday at St Edward's School:

Juniors (school years 3-6) :            4.30 - 6.00pm

Seniors (school years 7-9) :            6.00 - 7.30pm

Company (school years 10-11+) :   7.30 - 9.00pm

Connections2019_Key_Visual_Square.jpg

Company: NT Connections 2020

Company have been selected to take part in the largest Youth Theatre festival in the world! 300 young companies from across the UK will work with 1 of 10 scripts, commissioned by the National Theatre and written especially for young performers.

A National Theatre director will watch our home performance at Parabola Arts Centre and personally meet with our Company afterwards for feedback. We will then transfer to our partner venue, Warwick Arts Centre, and perform alongside other youth theatre companies from our region.

This is a fantastic opportunity to showcase our work at regional level, network with like-minded young companies and work alongside National Theatre and Warwick Arts Centre directors and producers.

20180329_111327.png

Juniors & Seniors

Over the Autumn and Spring terms our Juniors and Seniors companies will be creating a brand new show from scratch! 

 

At CYT, we love to devise our own theatre, rather than working from a traditional script. Our starting point might be an object, story, poem, piece of text, news article, theme, song lyrics or piece of music, and over the weeks we play, explore and mould it into a brand new piece of theatre.

We love to tap into our young people's talents and interests and create theatre that is as exciting and important to them, as it is to us. This is what makes CYT shows so vibrant and original!

We can't wait to announce our new shows at the start of term! Be sure to expect drama, comedy, physical theatre and perhaps even a song or two! 

IMG_20180131_175154_450.jpg

Term Information

We run to an 11 week term, with extra rehearsals in the lead up to performances.

 

Please find our dates below for the new Autumn 2019 and Spring 2020 terms.

Our termly fee is £82.50 / £66 2nd sibling discount.

Payment can be made via Paypal, BACS, cash or cheque.

Concession rate places & payment instalment options are available.

 

Please contact caroline@cheltenhamyouththeatre.co.uk for further information.

IMG_20171212_123159_126.jpg

A Year at CYT

At CYT we strive to offer a variety of creative and performance opportunities throughout the year.

 

Autumn Term concludes with our Christmas Showcase and Awards.

 

Spring Term sees our main stage productions at Parabola Arts Centre and National Theatre Connections.

 

Summer Term focuses on an outdoor, festival or flashmob performance.

Holiday workshops run throughout the year (please click here to see what's coming up) and we love to collaborate with arts organisations and practitioners.

 

Autumn Term 2019

  1. Friday 20th September

  2. Friday 27th September

  3. Friday 4th October                                                            (NT Connections Conference - no session 11th October)​

  4. Friday 18th October

  5. Friday 25th October​                                                        (Half Term - no session 1st November)

  6. Friday 8th November

  7. Friday 15th November

  8. Friday 22nd November

  9. Friday 29th November

  10. Friday 6th December

  11. Friday 13th December

  12. Friday 20th - Christmas Showcase!

Spring Term 2019

  1. Friday 10th January

  2. Friday 17th January

  3. Friday 24th January

  4. Friday 31st January

  5. Friday 7th February

  6. Friday 14th February

    (Half term - no session 21st February)

  7. Friday 28th February

  8. Friday 6th March

  9. Friday 13th March

  10. Friday 20th March

  11. Friday 27th March                                

       Extra Rehearsals:

  • Saturday 28th March - Juniors & Seniors - full day

  • Sunday 29th March - Company - full day

       Technical & Dress Rehearsals at Parabola Arts Centre​

  • Wednesday 1st April - Company - 4.30-8.30pm

  • Thursday 2nd April - Juniors & Seniors - 4.30-8.30pm

       Performance at Parabola Arts Centre

  • Friday 3rd April - Everyone - 4.30-9.00pm

Venue: St Edward's School

Cirencester Road, Charlton Kings, Cheltenham. GL53 8EU

Our weekly rehearsals and holiday workshops take place in the beautiful, professional drama studios at St Edward's School (seniors)

Summer Term 2019

We are delighted to announce that this Summer season, CYT will be performing at the Tuckwell Amphitheatre, as part of the Bacon Theatre's Open-air Theatre Festival! Over the course of Summer Term, we will devise a new show across our 3 companies, inspired by C.S.Lewis' The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe.

Age of Winter

Journey into Narnia this summer with Cheltenham Youth Theatre's enchanting new production, inspired by C.S Lewis' The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe.

When a game of hide and seek leads to the discovery of a new world, gripped by a 100 year winter, the players learn of their destiny to free it.

 

Told through high-energy physical theatre and devised by the 50-strong cast of young theatre-makers, CYT can't wait to return to the Tuckwell to share their imaginative and vibrant retelling of this classic childhood-favourite.

 

Summer Term Dates

  1. Friday 3rd May

  2. Friday 10th May

  3. Friday 17th May

  4. Friday 24th May

    (Half Term – no session 31st May)

  5. Friday 7th June

  6. Friday 14th June

  7. Friday 21st June

  8. Friday 28th June

  9. Friday 5th July

  10. Friday 12th July

  11. Friday 19th July

  12. Extra Rehearsal:

    Friday 26th July (full day)

  13. Performance at the Tuckwell Amphitheatre:

       Sunday 28th July (full day)​